End of Year Tasks
Savvas digital learning platforms utilize an automated New Year Rollover (NYR) process triggered by the district's Student Information System (SIS). The NYR process releases students from classes, which frees up digital license subscriptions. Districts can decide when their New Year Rollover (NYR) takes place using the pause period. Select here to learn more about pause period.
Prior to performing the New Year Rollover (NYR), it is recommended that teachers run final class and student reports. Student data can be retrieved from classes that have been marked to expire until the class is permanently deleted.
Does the administrator have manually rostered classes too? If manually rostered classes are not opted out of new year rollover, they are removed after the district pause period ends, and when a new ingestion file is sent for the auto-rostered classes.
District administrators can elect not to have class data deleted for all schools in the district. Choosing not to delete classes displays both last year’s classes and the upcoming or current classes on Realize. Teachers can also see both the years’ classes on the integrated learning platforms. Teachers can hide or expire classes to remove them from their view of active classes on SavvasRealize.
Contact Savvas Technical Support to opt the district out of class deletion.
Districts with auto rostered classes and manually rostered classes are considered mixed mode. Typically mixed mode districts roster the majority of their classes from their Student Information System via Realize or Realize and have a few schools or classes that are manually rostered outside of the integration, such as teachers using Google Classroom™ classes with Realize.
SavvasRealize uses a centralized process to prepare for the new school year. This process is called New Year Rollover, or NYR.
Realize administrators can view their district’s New Year Rollover date directly in Realize by going to New Year Rollover on the District page.
During New Year Rollover, the following processes are completed:
- Classes from last year are deleted.
- Students are removed from classes.
- Product license subscriptions are released to make available for the upcoming year.
- Student progress data is deleted.
The New Year Rollover process does not remove teacher content they have created, customized, or uploaded. Teacher and student accounts also remain in the system and should be reused each school year.
After New Year Rollover completes, administrators can upload new classes on Realize and teachers can create classes manually on SavvasRealize.
All districts are required to complete New Year Rollover, which takes place at the end of each academic school year. A district can choose not to delete last year’s classes. This is referred to as “opting out.” See the Opt Out of Deleting Last Year’s Classes help file for more information.
Teachers have the ability to opt out of specific manually rostered classes if the district keeps this default setting enabled. To view the district's new year rollover configurations, follow the steps below.
- Login to Realize with the district administrator account.
- Select the drop down for the District page, and select New Year Rollover.
- Select the radio button to the left of the class level opt out by teacher configuration for all schools in the district. By default, Yes is already selected. The option Yes allows teachers to select manaully rostered classes, including Google Classroom™ classes, to opt out from new year rollover, preventing the class, rosters, and license data from being removed. Selecting No prevents all teachers from selecting classes to opt out of new year rollover.
To see options teachers have in Realize if the class opt out is enabled for the district, refer to the Class Settings for New Year Rollover help file in the Realize online help for teachers.
See also
Opt Out of New Year Rollover for Manually Rostered Classes
Teachers and End of Year in Manually Rostered Classes