Realize Reader Comments

Using the Realize Assignment Viewer, you can provide your student with feedback by adding a comment to a highlight, annotation, or inline Notebook prompt response. When you or your student adds a comment, a comment thread is created that enables you to continue to communicate with each other in context.

The Realize Reader commenting feature is not available for students using the Early Learning theme.

View Realize Reader Comments

When your student adds a new comment, you are notified by a comment notification symbol in the Assignment Viewer. A red indicator bubble displays the total number of unread comments on the Menu button. Click on the comments notification symbol to navigate to the first unread comment where the new text is emphasized with bold font.

You are not notified of comments your students add to unassigned pages.

Add a Realize Reader Comment

You can add the first comment, respond to your own comment, or respond to your student’s comment. Your student is notified of your new comment in the Realize Assignment Viewer, on the page in Realize Reader, and at the specific highlight, annotation, or notebook prompt response.

  1. Click on your student’s highlight, annotation, or the comment symbol in a notebook prompt response.
  2. Enter your feedback using up to 1,000 characters.
  3. Click Save.

Edit a Realize Reader Comment

You can edit your last unreplied comment. Once your student has replied to your comment, it can no longer be edited. You cannot edit your student's comment.

  1. Click on the highlight, annotation, or notebook prompt response where you previously added your comment.

  2. Choose Edit.

  3. Revise your comment text, and then click Save.

Delete a Realize Reader Comment

You can delete your last unreplied comment. Once your student has replied to your comment, you cannot delete it. You cannot delete a student’s comment.

  1. Click on the highlight, annotation, or notebook prompt response where you previously added your comment.

  2. Choose Edit, and then choose Delete.
  3. Cancel or confirm the deletion.

If your student deletes a highlight or annotation with comments, the associated comment thread is also deleted. If your student deletes a Notebook prompt response with comments, the Notebook response is removed but the associated comment thread is retained.

See Also