Frequently Asked Questions for Teachers
Below are commonly asked questions along with answers to help teachers troubleshoot different situations related to their Google Classroom including when using EasyBridge.
Go to your Settings page and select the Disconnect button in the Google Account Linking feature. Once you take the action of importing a class, and you subsequently disconnect your accounts, the class(es) you previously imported from Google Classroom into Realize will no longer sync with Google Classroom. If you no longer need the classes that were imported, you can manually hide them. If you share a Google imported class with a co-teacher, please be aware that when you disconnect your Google account from Realize, you will no longer be able to view the Google-imported class. However, your co-teacher will still be able to view the Google-imported class within Realize.
Note: Disconnecting an account from Google will also disconnect classes. Any assignments that were synced from your Realize class to your Google class will be deleted.
When a student first logs into Realize via a Google Classroom assignment link, Google will ask the student if they are OK with Realize accessing the Google Classroom information that is required to enable the features of the integration. This is a standard message as is required of any integration with Google products. If for some reason the student does not accept the consent request, we will continue to ask the student for their consent until they say “yes.” Until that point the features of the integration will not work for the student.
Yes. Teachers need a Realize account to login into. If they are not logged into Google they will be prompted to do so during the account linking process.
If you delete your class in Google, the class will be disabled within Realize as well.
Yes, you must still login to Realize to find and assign content. Any assignment in Realize that is made to a Google-imported class or student will automatically be created in Google Classroom as well as in Realize.
All Realize programs will work with the Google Classroom integration. This feature is not specific to any one program in Realize.
Savvas Realize does not have an un-submit feature. If students un-submit their work in Google Classroom, the corresponding Realize assignment will still be in "Completed" status. However, if the student un-submits their assignment in Google Classroom, then they are free to add attachments and use other features on the Google Classroom side to help convey their assignment work to the teacher.
Teachers can create a Classwork Material link for their class within Google Classroom. Use the steps outlined in the support article link below.
Teachers can hide classes using the Hide feature in Realize. Hiding an assignment in Realize does not hide the assignment in Google Classroom since there is no hide assignment feature in Google. Likewise, unsubmitting an assignment in Google does not unsubmit in Realize, since there is not an unsubmit feature in Realize.
Our online help explains this process of hiding a class in Realize in more detail. Please see the link below.
No. There is no pass back of grades from Google Classroom to Realize. Realize however will pass score data back to Google Classroom. This is a key feature of our integration.
If the Google Classroom name is changed, the teacher will need to use the manual "Sync" button available within Realize to update the name of the class in Realize accordingly.
Teachers need to create Realize assignments for the Google imported classes in Realize and not Google Classroom. Realize is the system of record for assignments. The assignments created in Realize sync to Google.
No. Google Classroom assignments created in Realize will not show up for students who join the class after the creation date. This is the same way it works today in a non-Google Classroom integration Realize class.
Yes. Co-teachers who hide a Google imported class in Realize also hide it for all other co-teachers of the class in Realize. If there are co-teachers who do not wish to see a given class in their Realize view they should be removed as a co-teacher of the Google class.
Yes. Disconnecting a class unlinks the class and removes the Google assignments that are synced with Realize. If the class is also shared with other teachers, they will no longer have access to the Assignments that were synced to Google.
Yes. The co-teacher needs to be set up in Google Classroom and when the teacher connects their co-teacher account in Realize they will be added as a co-teacher.
Instructions for sharing a class with a co-teacher can be found in this knowledge article on the Savvas Support website.
Teachers who login directly into Realize (and not EasyBridge) will most likely not have duplicate classes, unless that class was created by them outside of Google. In the event there is a duplicate class, the non-Google Classroom class can be hidden using the instructions in this help file.
Check that the student was not added to the assignment after the assignment was created in Realize. If so, go to Realize and add the student to the assignment in Realize. For more information on this error message, see the technical support knowledge article here.
If you are used to logging directly into Realize, a complete list of steps, starting with creating a class in Google Classroom, can be found on the Realize page of My Savvas Training. Expand the Teachers section, and scroll to Google Integration.
No. We are not able to turn off those features inside of Google Classroom.
Currently, all scores are sent back to Google Classroom.
Realize Reader can be accessed through Realize Reader or on the go using the Realize Reader offline app.
Yes, any Realize class roster that was imported from Google Classroom will automatically remain in sync with changes taking place in the Google Classroom roster. The Google Classroom class is the “source of record” for roster data for the corresponding Realize class, so that when students are added or removed from the Google Classroom class, Realize will perform automatic updates to ensure the rosters successfully sync between the two systems.
For Realize classes imported from Google Classroom, the Realize Group creation feature is disabled. Google Classroom does not support named groups. Additionally, within Realize it is possible to have students from different classes (both non-Google imported and Google-imported) within the same group. This creates challenges when assigning Realize content to a mixed-class Group. Therefore, Group creation is not available for Google Classroom imported classes. The work around is to assign the assignment to specific students within a class.
The New Year Rollover process will also apply to these classes. Classes will not need to be deleted manually unless your district opts out of the New Year Rollover process.
No. The Savvas Support Team is not able to change student usernames.
Yes. Students in auto-rostered districts that also use Google Classroom are prompted to link their Google account with their Realize account upon accessing an assignment for the first time. They will be asked to login to their Google account and then their district account the first time in order to connect the accounts. Once the accounts are linked, students will no longer be prompted to login twice.
Student account linking is enabled by default for EasyBridge Plus districts. This feature is disabled by default for EasyBridge Auto districts. Manually rostered schools and districts are unaffected by this feature.
No. Teachers should never be added as students to another teacher's class. It is technically possible to add teachers as students, but it creates large challenges for the lead teachers. For Google Classroom student views, go to the following handouts located on My Savvas Training:
Additional teachers should always be added as co-teachers to another Google Classroom class. For instructions how to add a co-teacher, please refer to this Savvas Support article.
There can be a few different reasons why a class might not sync properly. Review the known errors in this knowledge article on the Savvas Support website to see if any of these match the error you see. Follow the instructions listed to resolve the error.